ASTMH Kicks Off 2017 Annual Meeting by Premiering Its First Society-Level Medal Named After A Female Icon In Tropical Medicine

This blog post was written by Doug Dusik Senior Director of Communications American Society for Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH) . The American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Founded in 1903, is the largest international scientific organization of experts dedicated to the reduction the global burden of tropical infectious diseases and improve global health. The organization accomplishes this by generating and sharing scientific evidence, informing health policies and practices, promoting career development, recognizing excellence and advocating for investment in the field. research in tropical medicine / global health. ASTMH is a member of the 2017 World Health Council.

The American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH) began its 66th Annual Meeting in Baltimore Sunday by presenting a new honor and premiere for the Society: the Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal, the first of a feminine icon in tropical medicine. The ASTMH Council acknowledged the absence of a medal at the Society level bearing the name of a woman and announced her plans at the 2016 Annual Meeting, seeking nominations earlier this year. The new medal recognizes award winners of both sexes for their inspiring and pioneering spirit, whose work represents success despite the obstacles and advances of tropical medicine. The medal is named after Clara Ludlow (1852-1924), the first female member of the Society and the first non-physician, entomologist with scientific zeal and tenacity to fight age, sex and gender barriers. and the skepticism of women in science. the understanding of tropical medicine.

• In front of the new Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal of the ASTMH, her first name after an icon of feminine tropical medicine.

The first recipient of the selected medal is Ruth S. Nussenzweig, MD, Ph.D. of the New York Medical University, whose extraordinary contributions forever changed malaria vaccine research at the time where we thought that a vaccine against malaria was impossible. Her work, together with her husband and collaborator Victor Nussenzweig, showed the opposite, paving the way for current malaria vaccination efforts. Dr. Nussenzweig was unable to attend the awards ceremony, but his son, André, accepted the medal on behalf of his mother. The grandchildren of Dr. Nussenzweig, Julian and Samuel, were also present.

• Back of the Ludlow Medal bearing the name of its first recipient, Ruth S. Nussenzweig.

The Society was also pleased to have two members of Clara Ludlow's family: Elizabeth Thomas and Sarah Brown Blake. Elizabeth Thomas is a second-year student in the Social and Behavioral Interventions Program of the International Health Department of the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore and Sarah Blake Brown is a Postdoctoral Fellow at Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at the University of California, Davis. Her professional nursing experience is anchored in community and public health, with a focus on maternal and child health. Clearly, Clara Ludlow's mind is in their DNA.

Elizabeth and Sarah awarded the Ludlow Medal to André Nussenzweig. The President of the ASTMH and the moderator of the awards ceremony Patricia F. Walker, MD, DTM & H, FASTMH, have described it as a way of connecting history to the past.

The annual meeting of the ASTMH continues until Thursday when the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, Anthony S. Fauci, MD, will deliver a special plenary session. Paul Farmer, MD, Ph.D., co-founder and chief strategist of Partners In Health (PIH), and invited participants to give back to the global health community by receiving their influenza vaccine by Walgreens – Get a shot. Give a Shot.® campaign through the campaign of the United Nations Foundation Shot @ Life .


Leave a Reply